Five voted into Ring of Honor

Former Hurricanes Gino Toretta, Jim Kelly, Edgerrin James, Cortez Kennedy and Jim Otto will be inducted into the UM Football Ring of Honor during halftime of the Virginia Tech game on Nov. 13.

The selections are determined by the director of athletics and head football coach as well as an anonymous advisory committee. The criteria used in the selection process includes athletic achievements at Miami and at the professional level, commitment and loyalty to the continued success of the university and its athletic department, and a personal commitment to courage, fortitude, honesty and integrity.

Established in 1997, the Ring of Honor displays eight names of former Canes at Dolphin Stadium.