Women’s Track & Field

The University of Miami Women’s Track and Field team won its second consecutive ACC Indoor Championship, scoring 117 points, 21 more than runner-up North Carolina. The 4×400 relay team of Ginou Etienne, Charlette Greggs, Krista Simkins and Ena Leufroy claimed first place, with a time of 3:38.40, breaking the ACC Indoor Championship record set last year by the Hurricanes. Tabia Charles won the triple jump with a mark of 13.46m on her final jump. The performance is another NCAA automatic qualifying mark, her second of the meet.

The Hurricanes scored points in a variety of events. Melanie Schultz started off the scoring for the Hurricanes, finishing sixth in the mile in a time of 4:54.75.

In the 60-meter dash, India Ransom (7.41) and Chinela Davis (7.45) finished second and third. The Hurricanes repeated the feat in the 200 meters as Charlette Greggs (23.48) and Dominique Darden (23.70) also finished second and third, respectively. With the times, Ransom, Greggs and Darden all provisionally qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships.

In the 400 meters, Ginou Etienne finished second place, running an NCAA provisional time of 53.68. Krista Simkins place seventh in the event, running 55.64. In the 60-meter hurdles, Darden ran her second NCAA provisional time of the day finishing fourth in 8.28. Pavi’Elle James (8.56) finished eighth in the event.

Jumpers were the big story, with Brenda Faluade, and Amy Seward finishing third and eighth respectively, with marks of 13.29m (43-07.25) and 12.66m (41-06.50). Both marks were NCAA provisional qualifying marks. Victoria Andonova finished third in the high jump with a jump of 1.75m (5-08.75.

Khadija Talley finished third in the shot put with her fifth throw of 15.40m (50-06.25), which qualifies her provisionally for the NCAA Indoor Championships. Akera Lathan finished fifth with her second throw of 15.16m (49-09.00)

The victory is the Hurricanes’ third consecutive ACC track championship and eighth conference championship overall.

The Hurricanes will next run at the NCAA Indoor Championships, in Fayetteville, Ark., on March 10-11.

Men’s Track & Field

The Men’s Track and Field Team wrapped up competition on the third day of the ACC Indoor Championship. Tim Harris finished first in the 800 meters in 1:49.12, his third victory in that event this season. Lance Leggett finished second in the 60-meter hurdles, earning all-ACC distinction and joining Roland DaSilva (Heptathlon) from yesterday as an All-ACC performer. Both Harris’ and Leggett’s times qualified them provisionally for the NCAA Indoor Championships.

Darnell Johnson finished fifth in the triple jump with a mark of 14.54m (47-08.50). The 4×400 relay team of Harris, Leggett, Roland DaSilva and Patrick O’Donnell finished fifth in a time of 3:15.29, their best result of the season.

Florida State won the meet for the fourth consecutive time, scoring 160.50 points. The Hurricanes finished ninth in with 36, just three behind Georgia Tech.

The NCAA Indoor Championships are the next scheduled meet for the Hurricanes and will be held March 10-11 in Fayetteville Arkansas.

ACC Champions: Tim Harris, 800 Meters, 1:49.12.

All-ACC: Lance Leggett, 60 meter hurdles, 7.89; Roland DaSilva: Heptathlon, 5176 points.

February 28, 2006


The Miami Hurricane

Student newspaper at the University of Miami

Around the Web
  • UM News
  • Error

The University of Miami has joined forces with a national collaborative to help raise awareness and ...

Political scientist Calla Hummel, who was in Bolivia during its flawed election, shares her insights ...

University of Miami Frost School of Music alumni are recognized on Latin music’s biggest night—the 2 ...

A new course is providing students a primer on planning the Super Bowl, one of the biggest events of ...

A week full of spirit, friendly competition and ’Canes pride was on display during Homecoming and Al ...

RSS Error: A feed could not be found at A feed with an invalid mime type may fall victim to this error, or SimplePie was unable to auto-discover it.. Use force_feed() if you are certain this URL is a real feed.

TMH Twitter
About Us

The Miami Hurricane is the student newspaper of the University of Miami in Coral Gables, Florida. The newspaper is edited and produced by undergraduate students at UM and is published in print every Tuesday.