News

Black Awareness Month Schedule

Friday Feb. 7
Fashion Show
7 p.m.
UC I-Lounge

Saturday Feb. 8
Community Service
12 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Ester Mae Amhrister Park

Sunday Feb. 9
Church Service
11 a.m.
Sweet Home Missionary Baptist Church

Tuesday Feb. 11
Talent Show
7 p.m.
Clark Recital Hall
*Tickets Required

Wednesday Feb. 12
BFA Movie “Dance Hall Queen”
7 p.m.
UC I-Lounge

Thursday Feb. 13
Planet Kreyol presents A New Perspective on Haiti in America
11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
UC Lower Lounge

Comedy Jam
8 p.m.
Rathskeller

Black Homecoming Weekend

Friday Feb. 14
Hot on the Block
2 p.m.
UC Ballroom A & B

Life and Def with Russell Simmons
7 p.m.
Gusman Concert Hall
*Tickets Required, pickup available in UC 209

Saturday Feb. 15
Network Mixer
12 p.m. to 3 p.m.
Rathskeller

Royal Heritage Ball
8 p.m. to 1 a.m.
Wyndham Hotel
*Ticket Required

Sunday Feb. 16
Black Reunion Weekend BBQ
12 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Tropical Park
Monday Feb. 17
Cultural Arts “Step Africa”
7pm
Cosford Cinema

Tuesday Feb. 18
Africa Storytelling
7 p.m.
UC Storm Surge CafE

Wednesday Feb.19
BFA Movie “Dancehall Queen”
7 p.m.
UC I-Lounge

Thursday Feb. 20
WWMA Banquet
6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Founders Hall

Poetry Night
8 p.m.
UC Storm Surge Cafe

Friday Feb. 21
Greek Extravaganza
8 p.m.
Gusman Concert Hall

Saturday Feb. 22
Gospel Explosion
7:30 p.m.
Gusman Concert Hall

Monday Feb. 24
Miss Black and Gold
7:06 p.m.
Clarke Recital Hall

Tuesday Feb. 25
Brothers’ Appreciation Day
7:22 p.m.
Rathskeller

Wednesday Feb. 26
BFA Film Trivia
7 p.m.
UC Ballroom A
Thursday Feb 27
Male Extravaganza
7 p.m.
Rathskeller

Friday Feb. 28
Closing Ceremonies
6 p.m.
UC Rock

February 7, 2003

Reporters

The Miami Hurricane

Student newspaper at the University of Miami


Around the Web

An asynchronous learning model provided an opportunity to create a hands-on process with a three-dimensional approach for a fall class. ...

Claire Paris-Limouzy started freediving for research and ended up becoming a record-breaking athlete who is also spearheading a Scientific Freediving program at the University. ...

Sociology scholars from around the world convened for a virtual conference hosted by the University of Miami on Thursday to explore shifting tendencies in international relocation and the implications for global social change. ...

Lauryn Williams, track and field and bobsled medalist, addressed the University community during Wednesday night’s “What Matters to U” virtual event. ...

During his appearance Tuesday on a webinar hosted by the University of Miami Patti and Allan Herbert Business School, tech mogul Eric Yuan highlighted the importance of a workplace culture of happiness and urged that businesses pay greater attention to the digital divide. ...

TMH Twitter
About Us

The Miami Hurricane is the student newspaper of the University of Miami in Coral Gables, Florida. The newspaper is edited and produced by undergraduate students at UM and is published in print every Tuesday.