The University of Miami women’s rowing team will compete in the XXXIX Head of the Charles Regatta in Cambridge-Boston, Mass., October 18 and 19.
The two-day event features over 7,000 athletes from around the world competing in 21 races and attracts up to 300,000 spectators. The world’s largest regatta begins at Boston University Bridge and concludes at the Elliot Bridge.
The Hurricanes will be led by the Varsity 8+ crew of sophomore coxswain Laura Comeau, sophomore stroke Ashley Marincsin, senior Jenny Krawec, senior Jacqui Julien, junior Deirdre Curran, senior Ananda Chou, senior Caroline Stuart, sophomore Aoife Forde and senior bow Jordanna Heywood which set a new course record with a time of 15:37:82 at the Head of the Creek Regatta on October 12 last sunday. Last year at the Head of the Charles, the UM Varsity Eight placed 42nd in the Champion Eight event after being assessed a one minute penalty for interfering with another crew’s progress on the race course.
“We’re definitely looking to better out result from last year,” Head Coach Debra Morgan said. “The crew is really driven to see how high they can place.”
This will mark the first time in school history the Hurricanes will have a crew in the Youth 8 event, a lineup that requires each member of the crew to be under the age of 20 and must be either a high school student or freshman in college. The crew includes coxswain Meghan Leydecker, stroke Karen Wiley, Sarah Conlon, Valerie Webb, Laura Coltman, Alicia Alamar, Ashley Via, Molly Wilson, and bow, Marenda Chamberlin.
After the Head of the Charles the Hurricanes will return to action on November 1st at the Head of the Chattahoochee in Gainesville, Ga.

Women’s Golf
University of Miami junior Tina Miller shot a final round 74 to win the Beacon Woods Invitational at Beacon Woods Country Club in Bayonet Point, FL.
The win is the second of the season for Miller, who also won the season-opening Cougar Classic earlier this year, and is the fourth of her career. Miller finished the tournament with an even-par 216 (70-72-74) to defeat FIU’s Courtney Burdick (73-73-73-219) and USF’s Jill Crowe (69-77-73-219) by three strokes.
Overall the Hurricanes shot a final round 302 to finish in fourth-place (300-308-302-910). Host South Florida won the team championship with a three-round score of 891 (293-304-294).
Miami senior Camilla Hilland also played well tying for 12th with a three-round total of 224 (73-78-73).

October 17, 2003


The Miami Hurricane

Student newspaper at the University of Miami

Around the Web
  • Miami Herald
  • UM News
  • Error

Duke Johnson, the all-time leading rusher in Miami Hurricanes history, was one of a dozen members of ...

The Miami Hurricanes, still waiting for a starting quarterback to be named, are in the top 25 again. ...

Happy first day of school for everyone out there, including the University of Miami students. We jus ...

With the University of Miami season opener closing in, the next starting quarterback has yet to be n ...

The second fall scrimmage, closed to the media and public, is over. University of Miami coach Mark R ...

UM’s new chief academic officer holds some 40 patents, and in 2017 was inducted into the National Ac ...

University of Miami students and researchers are blogging during a month-long expedition in the Gulf ...

María de Lourdes Dieck-Assad, a world-renowned economist and former ambassador, fills a new role for ...

Through the U Dreamers Grant, DACA students find essential support as they pursue their college degr ...

UM students talk about their internships up north in a city that never sleeps. ...

RSS Error: A feed could not be found at A feed with an invalid mime type may fall victim to this error, or SimplePie was unable to auto-discover it.. Use force_feed() if you are certain this URL is a real feed.

TMH Twitter Feed
About TMH

The Miami Hurricane is the student newspaper of the University of Miami in Coral Gables, Fla. The newspaper is edited and produced by undergraduate students at UM and is published weekly on Thursdays during the regular academic year.