Black Awareness Month Schedule

Friday Feb. 7
Fashion Show
7 p.m.
UC I-Lounge

Saturday Feb. 8
Community Service
12 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Ester Mae Amhrister Park

Sunday Feb. 9
Church Service
11 a.m.
Sweet Home Missionary Baptist Church

Tuesday Feb. 11
Talent Show
7 p.m.
Clark Recital Hall
*Tickets Required

Wednesday Feb. 12
BFA Movie “Dance Hall Queen”
7 p.m.
UC I-Lounge

Thursday Feb. 13
Planet Kreyol presents A New Perspective on Haiti in America
11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
UC Lower Lounge

Comedy Jam
8 p.m.

Black Homecoming Weekend

Friday Feb. 14
Hot on the Block
2 p.m.
UC Ballroom A & B

Life and Def with Russell Simmons
7 p.m.
Gusman Concert Hall
*Tickets Required, pickup available in UC 209

Saturday Feb. 15
Network Mixer
12 p.m. to 3 p.m.

Royal Heritage Ball
8 p.m. to 1 a.m.
Wyndham Hotel
*Ticket Required

Sunday Feb. 16
Black Reunion Weekend BBQ
12 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Tropical Park
Monday Feb. 17
Cultural Arts “Step Africa”
Cosford Cinema

Tuesday Feb. 18
Africa Storytelling
7 p.m.
UC Storm Surge CafE

Wednesday Feb.19
BFA Movie “Dancehall Queen”
7 p.m.
UC I-Lounge

Thursday Feb. 20
WWMA Banquet
6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Founders Hall

Poetry Night
8 p.m.
UC Storm Surge Cafe

Friday Feb. 21
Greek Extravaganza
8 p.m.
Gusman Concert Hall

Saturday Feb. 22
Gospel Explosion
7:30 p.m.
Gusman Concert Hall

Monday Feb. 24
Miss Black and Gold
7:06 p.m.
Clarke Recital Hall

Tuesday Feb. 25
Brothers’ Appreciation Day
7:22 p.m.

Wednesday Feb. 26
BFA Film Trivia
7 p.m.
UC Ballroom A
Thursday Feb 27
Male Extravaganza
7 p.m.

Friday Feb. 28
Closing Ceremonies
6 p.m.
UC Rock

February 7, 2003


The Miami Hurricane

Student newspaper at the University of Miami

Around the Web
  • Miami Herald
  • UM News
  • HurricaneSports

A six-pack of UM notes on a Friday: ▪ Four-star Oregon-based quarterback Michael Johnson Jr. told Ri ...

On the eve of her team’s NCAA Tournament opener, University of Miami coach Katie Meier took the oppo ...

The defeated and deflated Miami Hurricanes quietly packed up their bags and trudged out of their Ame ...

Even before Donte Ingram broke Miami’s heart and sent the Hurricanes home from the NCAA Tournament w ...

And so ends Miami's season. No. 11 seed Loyola-Chicago's Donte Ingram hit a buzzer-beating ...

From bringing communities together to understanding the impacts of urbanization on the groundwater s ...

Novelist Jennine Capó Crucet’s book talk on March 20 explores belonging, identity, and what it means ...

Musical theatre students spent quality time learning (and laughing) with Avenue Q co-creator Jeff Ma ...

The University of Miami takes concrete steps to become the hemispheric university as it builds a rel ...

A UM physicist comments on the passing of British theoretical physicist Stephen Hawking. ...

The Canes closed out the Hurricane Invitational with a strong showing on the track and in the field ...

The University of Miami rowing team kicked off its spring season at the 2018 Oak Ridge Cardinal Invi ...

The Hurricanes fell behind early and could not recover Saturday afternoon, falling to No. 23 Duke, 4 ...

The University of Miami women's basketball team had its superb 2017-18 season come to an end Sa ...

The University of Miami men's tennis team will go into a match ranked for the first time this s ...

TMH Twitter Feed
About TMH

The Miami Hurricane is the student newspaper of the University of Miami in Coral Gables, Fla. The newspaper is edited and produced by undergraduate students at UM and is published weekly in print on Tuesdays during the regular academic year.